The Monday Review: HellYes! to HellCat

 

I love reading graphic novels, but superhero comics have never really been my thing. I read Ms. Marvel, and the new Thor, and Spider Gwen and Silk. And they’re good but I don’t enjoy them as much as Lumberjanes, Jem and the Holograms, Cleopatra in Space, or Giant Days.
But this weekend I picked up the new HellCat. I’d heard good things about it so I purchased it for the collection and I wanted to see what it was about before I gave it to the teens. And oh my word I was blown away.

First of all the illustrations are super cute. In most superhero graphic novels the drawings are realistic and edgy and hyper sexualized. But not so in HellCat! All the characters have realistic proportions and come in different shapes and sizes.
And the story was really fun. It wasn’t hard core, end of the world, the super-villain is too powerful to defeat stuff. It was fun and light hearted and focused more on saving people than defeating the villain.  And I love the friendship between the female superheroes. They’re all looking out for each other instead of competing.

Just look at these cuties!

pat-2

Reading HellCat was just really fun. I laughed out loud in several places. And I cannot wait for the next book!
I hope you check out this book and enjoy it! Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

